Connect with us


No. 2 Whitehall dominant in seizing 12th team district wrestling title in 13 years

Vikings roll past Montague and Orchard View, await regional site and opponent.

Photos by Scott DeCamp | CatchMark

WHITEHALL — After forfeiting a West Michigan Conference Lakes Division dual match to Montague on a clerical issue last week, Whitehall left no doubt in seizing its 12th team district wrestling title in 13 years Wednesday night in the Vikings’ gym.

Whitehall, ranked second in Division 3, defeated Montague 65-7 in the semifinals and Orchard View 69-9 in the finals. Orchard View, which closes its team portion of the season with a 13-7 record, beat Oakridge 55-12 in the other semifinal.

It’s the fourth-straight team district championship for the Vikings (25-3), who await next week’s regional site and opponent. They’ll face the winner of tonight’s district hosted by Belding. Howard City Tri County and Grand Rapids Catholic Central have already punched their tickets to the regional where Whitehall will be competing.

Whitehall will be seeking its ninth regional crown in 10 years and its fourth in a row.

Montague closes the team portion of the season with an 18-8 record. The Wildcats will be competing in Saturday’s individual district hosted by Whitehall.

In the district semifinal pitting Whitehall and Montague, the Vikings won 12 of 14 bouts.

Winners for Whitehall in that match included Cody Manzo (106), Kolten Weiler (113), Max Krukowski (120), Nolan Taranko (126), Liam Leeke (138), Ryne Christensen (144), Darnell Mack (150), Blake English (157), Ryan Goodrich (165), Gavin Craner (175), Blake Morningstar (215), and Jason Smith (285). Montague winners included Christopher Aebig (132) and Isaac French (190).

In the district final matching up Whitehall and Orchard View, the Vikings claimed victories in 12 of 14 bouts again.

Winners for Whitehall included Manzo, Weiler, Krukowski, Taranko, Caden Varela (132), Leeke, Christensen, Mack, English, Goodrich, Craner, and Morningstar. Orchard View winners included Jaxon Tuttle (190) and Jamario Dash (285).

Winners for Orchard View in the district semifinal against Oakridge included CJ Payne (113), Emilio Villareal (138), Ryan Newland (144), Xander Randall (150), Landen Arvey (157), Darius Flowers (165), Mason Tuttle (175), Jaxon Tuttle (190), Bryce Bernard (215), and Dash (285).

Lead writer for CatchMark SportsNet and Web Services leader for CatchMark Technologies.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Wrestling