Connect with us

Cross Country

See 2023 cross country state finalists from West Michigan Conference

Ludington, Hart girls both win regional titles at Chippewa Hills; Hart boys finish as regional runner-up.

In this file photo, Ludington’s Summer Brower and Whitehall’s Cami Kraai compete in the West Michigan Conference Mega Meet Tuesday, Oct. 17, 2023, at Mason County Fairgrounds in Ludington, Mich. (Scott DeCamp | CatchMark)

Runners from the West Michigan Conference competed in 2023 MHSAA cross country regionals Friday (Oct. 27) and Saturday (Oct. 28).

On Friday at Remus Chippewa Hills, Ludington’s girls team ran away with a Division 2 regional title, while Hart’s girls squad pulled off a regional championship in Division 3. At the same regional, Hart’s boys team finished runner-up.

Individually, Fremont senior Sean Pettis captured first place in the Division 2 regional at Chippewa Hills with a time of 16:16.04, while Hart junior Jessica Jazwinski took top honors in the Division 3 regional at the same site with a time of 17:23.00.

In this file photo, Fremont’s Sean Pettis comes down the stretch during the West Michigan Conference Mega Meet Tuesday, Oct. 17, 2023, at Mason County Fairgrounds Ludington, Mich. (Scott DeCamp | CatchMark)
In this file photo, Hart’s Jessica Jazwinski crosses the finish line in the West Michigan Conference Mega Meet on Tuesday, Oct. 17, 2023, at Mason County Fairgrounds in Ludington, Mich. (Scott DeCamp | CatchMark)

At regional competition, the top three teams and runners for those squads qualify for the state finals. Additionally, the top seven individuals not part of top-three teams at regionals qualify for the state meet.

The state finals are Saturday (Nov. 4) at Michigan International Speedway in Brooklyn. Below are state qualifiers from the West Michigan Conference with name, school, grade, and regional time listed:


Division 2

(Remus Chippewa Hills regional)

Annabelle Lowman (Ludington), Fr., 19:08.73

Summer Brower (Ludington), Jr., 19:12.11

Linnea Paige (Fremont), So., 19:51.50

Cami Kraai (Whitehall), Jr., 20:14.38

Merceydez Patton (Oakridge), Sr., 20:49.95

Nadia Grierson (Ludington), Jr., 20:51.24

Christina Theis (Ludington), So., 20:56.74

Autumn Brower (Ludington), Jr., 21:21.57

Mackenzie Kellor (Ludington), Sr., 21:27.41

Allison Brandt (Ludington), Fr., 22:16.82

Division 3

(Allendale regional)

Abbie Wiegers (North Muskegon), Sr., 20:12.60

Lydia Soelberg (Shelby), Fr., 20:21.70

Cammie Erickson (Montague), Sr., 21:16.75

(Chippewa Hills regional)

Jessica Jazwinski (Hart), Jr., 17:23.00

Cecilia Postma (Manistee), Sr., 20:01.05

Lexie Beth Nienhuis (Hart), Jr., 20:42.29

Natalie Rosema (Hart), Fr., 20:58.52

Maylan Sanders (Mason County Central), Fr., 21:33.93

Lauren Pretty (Hart), Jr., 21:49.36

Kenai Kokx (Hart), So., 22:19.73

Harriet Kidder (Hart), Jr., 22:37.75

Lilly Hopkins (Hart), Jr. 22:52.91


Division 2

(Chippewa Hills regional)

Sean Pettis (Fremont), Sr., 16:16.04

Stewart Waters (Whitehall), Jr., 16:43.89

Carter Sherman (Fremont), Jr., 16:47.60

Hunter Parsons (Whitehall), So., 17:17.61

Division 3

(Allendale regional)

Evan Atkinson-Miller (North Muskegon), Sr., 17:16.51

Tanner Soelberg (Shelby), Sr., 17:17.20

(Chippewa Hills regional)

Tyler Vanderzanden (Hart), Sr., 17:39.57

Jack O’Donnell (Manistee), Sr., 17:43.03

Max Stitt (Hart), Jr., 17:54.17

Jack Slotman (Hart), So., 17:55.22

Avery Guikema (Hart), Jr., 18:00.46

Aiden Schaner (Hart), Fr., 18:04.77

Ethan Schaner (Hart), Jr., 18:51.14

Lead writer for CatchMark SportsNet and Web Services leader for CatchMark Technologies.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Cross Country