Connect with us


West Michigan Conference football tri-champs lead 2021 honor squad

Montague, Oakridge, Whitehall lead the way with all-conference recipients.

Montague, Oakridge and Whitehall shared the West Michigan Conference football championship this season, all with 5-1 league records.

It stands to reason that the Wildcats, Eagles and Vikings get the most selections on the all-conference team, which was released Sunday night.

Montague and Oakridge had the most first-team selections with both teams having players get the nod at nine different positions. Oakridge also had one honorable-mention pick, while Whitehall totaled eight first-teamers and four honorable-mention players.

Montague senior lineman Hayden McDonald and senior tight end/linebacker Colton Blankstrom, plus Oakridge senior running back/linebacker Corey Vanderputte and junior lineman Riley Bean, were first-team all-league choices on both sides of the ball.

The 2021 All-West Michigan Conference football team is listed below. The numbers in front of the names denote the order in which the player finished in terms of total votes received for the honor.


Wide receiver

1. Grant Becklin (Ravenna), Sr.

2. Tugg Nichols (Montague), Sr.

3. Brodie Fogus (Whitehall), Sr.

3. Matt Colbert (North Muskegon), Sr.

Tight end

1. Colton Blankstrom (Montague), Sr.

Honorable mention: Revin Gale (Hart), Jr.


1. Ethan Jozsa (Oakridge), Sr.

2. Winton Napier (Whitehall), Jr.

3. Mike Olthoff (Ravenna), Sr.


1. Riley Bean (Oakridge), Jr.

2. Zeke Thompson (Ravenna), Sr.

Honorable mention: Wes Russell (Whitehall), Jr.


1. Hayden McDonald (Montague), Sr.

Honorable mention: Gabe Reavey (Whitehall), Sr.


1. Kyle Stratton (Whitehall), So.

Honorable mention: James Young (North Muskegon), Fr.

Running back

1. Corey Vanderputte (Oakridge), Sr.

2. Alec Pruett (Whitehall), Sr.

3. Dylan Everett (Montague), Sr.

Honorable mention: Hunter Hogan (Ravenna), Jr.; Cade Clement (Shelby), Sr.

Blocking back

1. Trevor Jones (Oakridge), So.

Honorable mention: Clay Schullo (Ravenna), So.



1. Ethan Jozsa (Oakridge), Sr.

2. Rodney Brassfield (Montague), Jr.

2. Shane Cook (Whitehall), Jr.


1. Hayden McDonald (Montague), Sr.

2. Riley Bean (Oakridge), Jr.

3. Brenden Forsythe (Ravenna), Sr.

4. Sam Gallo (North Muskegon), Jr.

4. Gumaro Villeda (Hart), Sr.


1. Nick Blanchard (Whitehall), Sr.

2. Colton Blankstrom (Montague), Sr.

2. Corey Vanderputte (Oakridge), Sr.

Honorable mention: Brandon McFarren (Ravenna), Sr.; Kyle Huff (North Muskegon), Jr.

Defensive back

1. Thomas McCullough (Ravenna), Sr.

2. Izac Jarka (Montague), Jr.

3. Brenden Raymond (Oakridge), Sr.

3. Red Watson (Whitehall), Sr.

Honorable mention: Max Brown (Whitehall), Sr.; Ben Meyers (North Muskegon), So.


1. Andrew Kooi (Montague), Sr.

Honorable mention: Hunter Hogan (Ravenna), Jr.


1. Matt Danicek (Oakridge), Jr.

Honorable mention: Denny Belmonte (North Muskegon), Jr.; Kyle Beebe (Ravenna), Sr.

Kick return specialist

1. Chance Alvesteffer (Hart), Sr.

Honorable mention: Red Watson (Whitehall), Sr.; Brenden Raymond (Oakridge), Sr.

At large

1. Nate Bolley (Whitehall), Jr.


Montague                        5-1

Oakridge                          5-1

Whitehall                         5-1

Ravenna                           3-3

North Muskegon             2-4

Hart                                 1-5

Shelby                              0-6

Note: Mason County Central is not included because its varsity football team did not take part in a complete conference schedule, opting not to play Montague, Oakridge and Whitehall.

Lead writer for CatchMark SportsNet and Web Services leader for CatchMark Technologies.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Football